Dermatology Services

SunSafe Utah Poster Contest Finalists

Announcing the 27 finalists in our SunSafe Utah Poster Contest!

We had over 1,500 posters turned in from 40 schools across the state! We are thrilled by the amount of participation we had for our first poster contest. Congratulations to our finalists!


Finalist School Teacher
Andrea Vazquez Gerald L. Wright Elementary Mrs. Tresa Wallis
Atticus Teter Rowland Hall Mrs. Margaret Chapman
Maya Parsons Oakridge Elementary Mrs. Connie Sorenson

1st Grade

Finalist School Teacher
Taybreight Roberts Century Elementary Ms. Jessi Campbell
Arcadia Labon Weilenmann School of Discovery Mrs. Brenda Mercer
Clair Reichert Mill Creek Elementary Mrs. Jana Manning & Mrs. Cheryl Baker

2nd Grade

Finalist School Teacher
Madison Judd Snow Springs Elementary Mrs. Heather Morse
Ellie Brown Parley's Park Elementary Ms. Tricia Perkins
Heather Howarth Fairview Elementary Mrs. Danalee Sorensen

3rd Grade

Finalist School Teacher
Madison Baker Saratoga Shores Elementary Mr. John Pryor
Cougar Gao Wasatch Elementary Mrs. Hideko Lee
Rebecca Conklin Wasatch Elementary Mrs. Hideko Lee

4th Grade

Finalist School Teacher
Ava Olson Woodstock Elementary Mrs. Cindee Bailey
Eliza Ter-Gevorkian Mill Creek Elementary Mrs. Amy Koehler & Mrs. Cheryl Baker
Ehren Reichert Mill Creek Elementary Mrs. Amy Koehler

5th Grade

Finalist School Teacher
Julia Finley Intermountain Christian School Ms. Patricia Van Heyst
Caitlin Schnurstein Century Elementary Miss Kathryn Shea
Clista Galecki Fairview Elementary Mrs. Sarah Mitchell

6th Grade

Finalist School Teacher
Rocky Salnone Saratoga Shores Elementary Mr. John Pryor
Alli Eroh Weilenmann School of Discovery Mrs. Jessica Landsparger
Stephanie Shin Wasatch Elementary School Mrs. Hideko Lee

7th Grade

Finalist School Teacher
Natasha Torsak John Hancock Charter School Mr.  Thompson
Herby Fullmer North Sanpete Middle School Mrs. Fullmer
Cali Keizer Ecker Hill Middle School Mrs. Debra Barfield-Corrigan

8th Grade

Finalist School Teacher
Lizzy Rosenbloom Treasure Mountain Junior High Ms. Pam Strong
Lauren Yancey Matheson Junior High Ms. Chelsie Acosta
Maria Lemus Matheson Junior High Ms. Chelsie Acosta

Good luck and remember to Limit the Sun, Not the Fun!

2012 Prizes

National Prizes:
Family trip to Disney World
Shade structure fo the winner's school (value up to $12,000)

Utah Prizes:
New Apple iPad
New bicycle
Tickets to local attractions
Digital camera

Important Dates for Poster Contest

Judging and Awards Ceremony: Friday, April 6, 9:00 - 11:00 AM at the Huntsman Cancer Institute (more details to follow)

SunSafe Utah is a collaboration of the University of Utah's Department of Dermatology and the Huntsman Cancer Institute.  This year, SunSafe Utah is happy to collaborate with the Environmental Protection Agency's SunWise with SHADE poster contest.

Thank you to our judges

Monica Ferguson, MS, CCC-SLP, Faculty, College of Education
Michael L. Hardman, PhD, Interim Sr. VP for Academic Affairs
Mary Ann Gerber, President of SolSurvivors
Patricia Jones, State Senator, District 4
Robert Neubecker, Author and Illustrator
Josie Payne, Miss Bear River Valley
Larry K. Shumway, EdD, State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Beverley Taylor Sorenson, Founder, Art Works for Kids
Brad Wilson, State Representative, District 15
John J. Zone, MD, Chairman, Department of Dermatology

Thank you to our partners and sponsors

SOM Logo HCI Logo UCan Logo Deer Valley Logo Reagan Signs