Overview

Specialists speaking via screen conference

Project ECHO-Liver Care utilizes web-based video conferencing to promote the sharing of knowledge in a partnership that facilitates the delivery of care to patients in their local surroundings and keeps providers up to date on new developments in treatment and research. It has been demonstrated in recent medical publications that patients with complex conditions can be successfully cared for in this method and are more likely to keep scheduled appointments and adhere to challenging medical regimens.

The community providers are organized into learning networks that meet on a bi-weekly basis to present patient cases and learn from didactic education sessions. 

With over 40 percent of our liver failure and post-transplant recipients living more than 150 miles from the  University of Utah Hospital, we are creating a high quality, cost effective method to provide continuing pre- and post-transplant care for these patients in their local communities.

Providers are awarded one and a half hours of Category 1 CME credits for their participation in each ECHO Liver Care Clinic.

If you are interested in learning more please contact:

Christina Orme
Program Coordinator
Email: Christina.orme@hsc.utah.edu

Clinical Team

Terry Box, MD
Medical Director/Hepatologist
Email: terry.box@hsc.utah.edu

Robin Kim, MD
Director of Transplantation
Email: robin.kim@hsc.utah.edu

Ray Thomason, MD
Gastroenterology
Email: ray.thomason@hsc.utah.edu

Juan Gallegos, MD
Gastroenterology
Email: juan.gallegos@hsc.utah.edu

Tyson Kay
Program Coordinator
Email: t.kay@utah.edu

Forms

Clinical Presentation Forms