External Advisory Board

The Huntsman Cancer Institute External Advisory Board (EAB) serves in a consultative capacity and is charged to provide planning and oversight guidance for HCI to strengthen our cancer research programs. The EAB evaluates the scientific merit of HCI's cancer research programs and their standing in the national and international scientific communities as well as the quality of clinical and translational programs and the overall direction of HCI.

Edward Benz Edward Benz, MD
President, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Richard and Susan Smith Professor of Medicine,
Professor of Pediatrics, Professor of Pathology
Harvard Medical School
blackburn sm Elizabeth H. Blackburn, PhD
Nobel Laureate
President, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Professor, Morris Herzstein
Biochemistry and Biophysics Department
University of California, San Francisco
Michael Caligiuri Michael Caligiuri, MD
Director, Comprehensive Cancer Center
CEO, James Cancer Hospital & Solove Research Institute
JL Marakas Nationwide Insurance Enterprise Foundation Professor of Cancer Research
The Ohio State University
Brian Druker Brian Druker, MD
Director, OHSU Knight Cancer Center
Associate Dean for Oncology, OHSU School of Medicine
JELD-WEN Chair of Leukemia Research at OHSU
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Robert Duwors Rob DuWors, MPA
Deputy Director, Administration and Planning
Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of California at Los Angeles
Elaine Fuchs Elaine Fuchs, PhD
Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
The Rockefeller University

Ernest Hawk

Ernest T. Hawk, MD, MPH
Vice President, Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences
The University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Timothy Rebbeck

Timothy R. Rebbeck, PhD
Professor of Epidemiology
Director of the Center for Genetics and Complex Traits,
Director of the Laboratory for Molecular Epidemiology
Associate Director for Population Science in the Abramson Cancer Center
University of Pennsylvania

Thomas Sellers

Thomas Sellers, PhD, MPH
Center Director, Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
Executive Vice President

Sandra Swain

Sandra M. Swain, MD, FACP
Medical Director, Washington Cancer Institute
Professor of Medicine, Georgetown University
Adjunct Professor of Medicine, F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine

Past Members

Alfred G. Gilman, MD, PhD, Nobel Laureate
Raymond and Ellen Willie Distinguished
Chair in Molecular Neuropharmacology
Distinguished Chair in Molecular
in honor of Harold B. Crasilneck, PhD
Regental Professor

Executive Vice President of
Academic Affairs and Provost Dean
Professor and Chairman
Department of Pharmacology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Bernadine Healy, MD
Member, Presidents Council of
Advisors on Science and Technology

Former Director
National Institutes of Health

Former President and CEO
American Red Cross

Stanley J. Korsmeyer, MD
Sidney Farber Professor of Pathology and Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Director, Program in Molecular Oncology
Dana-Faber Cancer Institute

Bernard Levin, MD
Professor, Gastrointestinal Medicine
and Nutrition

Vice President, Cancer Prevention and
Population Sciences
University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center

Arnold J. Levine, MD
Former President, Rockefeller University

Professor, Simons Center for Systems
Biology, Institute for Advanced Study

Professor, Pediatrics and Biochemistry
Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Rae Ann Paden
Associate Director, Research Administration
University of New Mexico Cancer Center
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Saul A. Rosenberg, MD
Maureen Lyles D'Ambrogio
Professor of Medicine and Radiation Oncology, Emeritus
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, California

Richard L. Schilsky, MD
Professor of Medicine
Chairman, Cancer and Leukemia Group B
Biological Sciences Division
University of Chicago

Phillip A. Sharp, PhD, Nobel Laureate
Salvadore E. Luria Professor of Biology

Director, McGovern Institute for Brain Research
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ajit Varki, MD
Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Director, Glycobiology Research and Training Center

Former Director
University of California, San Diego
Cancer Center

Max S. Wicha, MD
Distinguished Professor of Oncology
Professor of Internal Medicine
Director, Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of Michigan

Robert C. Young, MD
Chancellor, Fox Chase Cancer Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania