UTN Home Page|Live Web Stream|Recent Video Events|University of Utah Healthcare|UTN Cisco Jabber Video (Movi)|Contact UTN

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides advice and guidance to UTN in support of its mission and operations.  Its responsibilities include strategic planning, review and approval of budgets and fee structures, adoption and approval of policies, advice of network member services, and government relations. The Advisory Board is made up of fifteen (15) members, selected to reflect Utah's diverse health care community, include representation from rural Utah; member hospital, clinics and health departments; other organizations; the University of Utah, research and education; and at-large members.

Page Contents


Robert Jex, RN, MHA, FACHE, Chair
Specialty Care Program Manager
Utah Bureau of EMS and Preparedness

Rob Allen, Vice Chair
Vice President, Rural Region
CEO Park City Medical Center
Intermountain Park City Medical Center
Member Hospital, Clinic, Health Department  

Greg Rosenvall
Director of Rural Hospital Improvement
Utah Hospital Association
Rural Representative  

Ronda Menlove
Senior Vice Provost for
Regional Campuses and Distance Education
Utah State University
Rural Representative  

Scott MacDonald
IT Director
Beaver Valley Hospital
Rural Representative  
Michael Strong, MD
Chief Medical Information Officer for University of Utah Health Sciences
General Internal Medicine
University of Utah Hospital & Clinics
University of Utah Health Sciences Center  

Jean Shipman
Eccles Health Sciences Library
University of Utah Health Sciences Center  

Leslie Lenert, MD
Professor of Medicine and Biomedical Informatics
Associate Chair for Ambulatory Care
Department of Internal Medicine
University of Utah School of Medicine
Education & Research  

Donna Singer
CEO, Utah Navajo Health System
Member Hospital, Clinic, Health Department    

Kathy Froerer, MHEd
Executive Director
Utah Association of Local Health Officers
Member Hospital, Clinic, Health Department  

Jan Root
President, Chief Executive Officer, Utah Health Information Network

Byron Bair, M.D.
Director of the VA Rural Health Resource Center Western Region (VA RHRC WR)
Professor Geriatric Internal Medicine & Geriatric Psychiatry
University of Utah School of Medicine

Libbey Chuy
Telehealth Program Coordinator
Association for Utah Community Health
Other Organizations  

Marta J. Petersen, M.D., ex officio, non-voting
Director, Utah Telehealth Network  

Deb LaMarche, ex officio, non-voting              
Associate Director, Utah Telehealth Network



The UTN Advisory Board has several active subcommittees which provide guidance on specific interest areas.  Subcommittee chairs generally are members of the board, but membership in subcommittees, with the exception of the Executive Committee, is open to the interested participants from the telehealth community. 







Meeting Schedule

The UTN Advisory Board meets quarterly, on the 3rd Wednesday of the 1st month of each quarter. Three of the meetings are conducted via videoconferencing. The October meeting is a full day in-person Annual Meeting, focused on strategic planning and open to the UTN members and partners. 

The 2011 Meeting schedule: 


The Bylaws have been created to establish and effectively maintain the Advisory Board. The Bylaws include a a clear definition of the UTN mission, the responsibility and representation of the Board and the election of officers. For a complete copy download the UTN Bylaws PDF.

Memorandum of Understanding with UUHSC

The Utah Telehealth Network and its staff are based out of the University of Utah.  In 2006, the UTN Advisory Board signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the University of Utah Health Sciences Center in order to understand the relationship and roles of the two organizations regarding UTN.  The University of Utah supports the UTN Advisory Board role as outlined in their bylaws. The University of Utah has primary responsibility for the operation of UTN, which includes administrative management, personnel and infrastructure support, and resource sharing of technical and clinical expertise.