Health Information

Understanding Your Diagnosis

  • Esophageal Cancer: Tests After Diagnosis

    After you’re diagnosed with esophageal cancer, you’ll likely have other tests. These tests help your healthcare providers learn more about your cancer.

  • Chest X-Ray

    A chest X-ray is an imaging test that uses X-rays to look at the structures and organs in your chest. It can help your health care provider see how well your lungs and heart are working. Certain heart problems can cause changes in your lungs. Certain diseases can cause changes in the structure of the heart or lungs.

  • Upper GI Endoscopy

    An upper GI endoscopy or EGD (esophagogastroduodenoscopy) is a procedure to diagnose and treat problems in your upper GI (gastrointestinal) tract.

  • Upper Gastrointestinal Series

    An upper gastrointestinal series is an imaging test of your esophagus, stomach, and first part of your small intestine (duodenum). The test is done with X-rays after you swallow a special beverage. The beverage contains either contrast or a powder called barium.

  • CT Scan of the Abdomen

    CT scan is an imaging test that uses X-rays and a computer to make detailed images of the body. A CT scan shows details of the bones, muscles, fat, soft tissues, organs, and blood vessels. They are more detailed than regular X-rays.

  • Esophageal Cancer: Stages

    The stage of a cancer is how much and how far the cancer has spread in your body. The most commonly used system to stage esophageal cancer is called the TNM classification.

  • Esophageal Cancer: Diagnosis

    If your healthcare provider thinks you have esophageal cancer, you’ll need tests. You may have imaging tests and a biopsy.