The Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) Community Advisory Board comprises 37 members from Utah and the Mountain West, including representatives from government organizations, safety net health care and professional organizations, community organizations focused on the underserved, business leaders, politicians, religious leaders, and cancer patients, caregivers, and survivors. HCI leaders work with the Community Advisory Board to prioritize work and engage the community in cancer research, services, and prevention efforts.

Board Members

Joyce Ah You

Executive Director
The Queen Center

Allie Bain

Director, Comprehensive Cancer Control Program
Wyoming Department of Health

Mary Beckerle

Chief Executive Officer
Huntsman Cancer Institute

Brad Belnap

Program Manager, Comprehensive Cancer Control Program
Utah Department of Health

Kirk Benge

Executive Director and Health Officer
San Juan County Health Department

Heather Borski

Division Director, Disease Control and Prevention
Utah Department of Health

Sara Carbajal-Salisbury

Director, Health Programs
Alliance Community Services

Charlene Cariou

Health Program Manager, Comprehensive Cancer Control Program
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

Mary Chamberlain

Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer Survivor

LeGrand R. Curtis Jr.

General Authority Seventy
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

France A. Davis

Calvary Baptist Church

Paula Dunham

Executive Director
Green River Medical Center

Gary Edwards

Executive Director
Salt Lake County Health Department

Luz Escamilla

Vice President, Community Development
Zions Bank

Utah State Senate

Luis Garza

Executive Director
Comunidades Unidas

Alex Guzman

President and Chief Executive Officer
Utah Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Tasha Harris

Director, Regional Cancer Center
Memorial Hospital of Sweetwater County

Emma E. Houston

Breast Cancer Survivor

James Jackson III

Assistant Vice President
Community Development, Zions Bank

Executive Director
Utah African-American Chamber of Commerce

Jodi Kaufman

Health and Physical Education Specialist
Utah State Board of Education

Derek Kitchen

Council Member
Salt Lake City Council

Morgan Marietti

Health Systems Manager, Hospitals
American Cancer Society North Region

Leah Merchant

Section Supervisor, Cancer Control Program
Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services

Laura Michalski

Chief Executive Officer
Fourth Street Clinic

Derek Miller

President and Chief Executive Officer
The Salt Lake Chamber

Joseph Miner

Executive Director
Utah Department of Health

Rob Moolman

Executive Director
Utah Pride Center

Mikelle Moore

Senior Vice President of Community Health
Intermountain Healthcare

Ed Napia

Special Projects Manager
Urban Indian Center of Salt Lake

Darren B. Parry

Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation

Patrick Poulin

Acting Regional Director Pacific West Region
International Rescue Committee

Alan Pruhs

Executive Director
Association for Utah Community Health

Susan Sheehan

President and Chief Operating Officer
Huntsman Cancer Foundation

Oscar Azarcon Solis

Catholic Diocese of Salt Lake City

Christine Stoffel

Parent, Childhood Cancer Survivor

Donald Stoffel

Parent, Childhood Cancer Survivor

John Sweetenham

Senior Director for Clinical Affairs and Physician in Chief
Huntsman Cancer Institute

Christine Thompson

Community Programs Manager
Nevada Cancer Coalition

Cornelia Ulrich

Director, Comprehensive Cancer Center
Huntsman Cancer Institute

David Wetter

Director, Center for Health Outcomes and Population Equity
Huntsman Cancer Institute

Troy Williams

Executive Director
Equality Utah

Lori Wright / Linda Emmett

Chief Executive Officer / Chief Operations Officer
Family Healthcare