Apr 01, 2021 10:00 AM

Read Time: 2 minutes

Highlights of Awards Recognizing Clinical Research Leadership

National Cancer Institute Experimental Therapeutics Clinical Trials Network
Ignacio Garrido-Laguna, MD, PhD

National Cancer Institute Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award (CCITLA)
Siwen Hu-Lieskovan, PhD, MD

North American Neuroendocrine Tumor Society (NANETS) Theranostics Investigator Grant
Heloisa Soares, MD, PhD

High-Impact Research Recognition from the National Institutes of Health

National Cancer Institute Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) Awards
Hunter Underhill, MD, PhD
Allie Grossmann, MD, PhD 

National Institute of General Medical Sciences Outstanding Investigator Award
Awarded jointly to Raphael Franzini, PhD, Kent Golic, PhD, and Michael McIntosh, MD

National Cancer Institute Research Project Cooperative Grant
Trudy Oliver, PhD

National Cancer Institute Cancer Research Education Award
Awarded jointly to Mia Hashibe, PhD, and Kola Okuyemi, MD, MPH

Selected Awards to Support Career Development of Students and Junior Faculty

National Cancer Institute Pathway to Independence Award for Outstanding Early Stage Postdoctoral Researchers (K99/R00) Grant
Aria Vaishnavi, PhD

Five For The Fight Fellows
Siwen Hu-Lieskovan, MD, PhD
Adriana Coletta, PhD, MS, RD
Robert Judson-Torres, PhD
Ben Myers, PhD
Sonam Puri, MD
Katie Basham, PhD
Samuel Cheshier, MD, PhD
Charles R. Rogers, PhD, MPH
Sheetal Hardikar, MBBS, PhD, MPH 

Highlights of New National Grants and Contracts

American Cancer Society Research Scholar Grant
Yelena Wu, PhD
Minna Roh-Johnson, PhD 

Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award
Kimberley Evason, MD, PhD
Gregory Ducker, PhD 

St. Baldrick’s Grants for Pediatric Cancer Research
Lauri Linder, PhD, APRN, CPON
Xiaoyang Zhang, PhD 

Selected Staff Honors

University of Utah Staff Excellence Award
Jonathan Martinez
Stella Mason

Institutional Recognition to Huntsman Cancer Institute
U.S. News & World Report Best Cancer Hospitals
National Cancer Institute Comprehensive Cancer Center Designation
Press Ganey Pinnacle of Excellence Award for Outpatient Clinics Performance
American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer
CEO Cancer Gold Standard

Cancer touches all of us.

Share Your Story