wellness-survivorship banner

Rowing

Frequently Asked Questions

Rowing Flyer

scullingRowing (also called sculling) provides a low-impact, full-body workout. It is popular among patients undergoing cancer treatment and people in remission. 

Through the Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) Linda B. and Robert B. Wiggins Wellness and Integrative Health Center, the HCI Rowing Program takes place at the Great Salt Lake, where rowing is peaceful on a large body of water surrounded by scenic mountains and islands. The boats are stored by the Great Salt Lake Rowing (GSLR) Club at the Great Salt Lake Marina. GSLR is a community rowing association that welcomes cancer survivors in their promotion of rowing for recreational and competitive activities. The season begins in spring and ends in autumn.

For almost a decade, Nicole Cavallaro has taught and coached cancer survivors to row. Any patient cleared through his or her provider is welcome to join this rewarding activity. An exercise specialist will assess you for this program. The sessions listed below are open to everyone after they have had an individual session with Ms. Cavallaro. All sessions are dependent on safe weather on the Great Salt Lake. 

2017 Rowing Schedule

Great Salt Lake Marina

Date Time
Saturday, June 3 8:00 a.m.
Tuesday, June 6 6:45 p.m.
Saturday, June 10 6:00 a.m.
Tuesday, June 13 6:45 p.m.
Saturday, June 17 6:00 a.m.
Tuesday, June 20 6:45 p.m.
Saturday, June 24 6:00 a.m.
Tuesday, June 27 6:45 p.m.
Saturday, July 1 8:00 a.m.
Two week break
Saturday, July 22 8:00 a.m.
Tuesday, July 25 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, July 29 8:00 a.m.
Tuesday, August 1 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 5 8:00 a.m.
Tuesday, August 8 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 12 8:00 a.m.
Tuesday, August 15 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 19 8:00 a.m.
Saturday, August 26 8:00 a.m.
Saturday, September 2 8:00 a.m.
Saturday, September 9 8:00 a.m.
Saturday, September 16 8:00 a.m.
Saturday, September 23
Wasatch Head Race!
8:00 a.m.
Saturday, September 30 8:00 a.m.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I have to participate in all sessions?
How do we communicate?
What if I've never rowed before?
What do I wear?
How do I sign up?
Where do we meet?
When are the rowing sessions?
Who do I contact?

Do I have to participate in all sessions?

No. You are welcome to, but we only have six rowing spots open per session. Rowers may sign up tentatively for each session two to three days before the scheduled session. The entire group will be contacted to confirm. If you are unable to attend a session you previously signed up for, we will offer your spot to someone else (first come, first served).

How do we communicate?

Planning our rowing sessions is done best by text messaging through Nicole. She will send out a group text message to everyone on the list and the first folks to reply are secured for the rowing session. We have an uncanny way of being able to accommodate everyone who wants to row at each session. If you do not receive or send text messages, Nicole will communicate with you by email. Feel free to contact her directly at 801-599-5687.

What if I've never rowed before?

Before you row in the four-person boat, you will be given a one-on-one lesson in the two-person boat. People typically catch on to rowing after one session, or you can contact us to schedule a private rowing session.

Another option is to attend National Learn to Row Day at the Great Salt Lake Marina. This will be a perfect opportunity for you to take your first strokes and gain some experience rowing.

What do I wear?

• Close-fitting shorts, t-shirts, and long pants (baggy clothing may get caught in the boat's wheels)
• Hat with a brim
• Sunglasses
• Shoes that can get wet, such as Chaco or Teva sandals (flip-flops will not work— you'll need shoes with a heel or back strap)

How do I sign up?

Contact the Wellness and Integrative Health Center for scheduling at 801-587-4585.

Where do we meet?

We meet at the Great Salt Lake Marina, located at 1075 S. 13312 West, Magna, which is about 22 miles east of Huntsman Cancer Institute. Map and links to directions can be found here.

When are the rowing sessions?

See our schedule for rowing session dates.

Who do I contact?

If you have any questions, contact the Wellness and Integrative Health Center at 801-587-4585.