Media Contacts

Melinda Rogers

Mar 25, 2013 6:17 PM

(SALT LAKE CITY)— The University of Utah School of Medicine has named

20 physicians and scientists as inaugural fellows in the University of Utah Academy of Medical Science Educators. 

The new program aims to connect the teaching expertise of veteran medical educators to other doctors and scientists in the medical school who are looking to enhance their teaching skills. Many educators are tapped to become teachers because they’ve excelled professionally in their medical or scientific field, but often they are not given formal instruction on teaching methodologies and the best practices for becoming an effective teacher once they step into their new roles as educators.

The University of Utah Academy of Medical Science Educators hopes to change that, said Wendy Hobson-Rohrer, M.D., M.S.P.H., who is Assistant Dean for Faculty Development at the University of Utah School of Medicine and serves as the Academy’s director.

“Physicians and scientists are important teachers at the U of U School of Medicine, yet not many who become teachers have ever had formal training in how to teach and what makes a good teacher. Our new program will fill that niche, “ said Hobson-Rohrer. 

The 20 fellows will spend a minimum of 10 hours each year participating in series of workshops where they will teach peers on how to become better teachers of medical sciences.

The University of Utah School of Medicine joins an elite group of about 40 other medical schools in the U.S. who also sponsor teaching academies for medical science educators.

The academies promote educational research and scholarship, provide resources and a community for faculty members pursuing educational scholarship and advocate for medical education. Research has shown academies are effective in improving teacher performance and students’ educational experiences.

A rigorous application process was used to select fellows, with internal and external reviewers from Columbia University Medical Center, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine and Baylor College of Medicine selecting Utah’s inaugural group.

““It is an honor for the School of Medicine to have had these fellows selected and to be represented among the academies nationally, ” said Carrie Byington, M.D., vice-dean for academic affairs and faculty development at the University of Utah School of Medicine.  “These fellows will be able to provide their peers with important tools, skills and educational methodology to help them become more successful teachers.  The Academy will directly benefit our students who will receive an even higher quality education from an outstanding faculty that is helping to train them.”

The inaugural fellows selected include:

•    Adam Stevenson, M.D. - Pediatrics

•    Amalia Cochran, M.D. - Surgery

•    Bonnie Baty, M.S., C.G.C. - Pediatrics

•    Brad Poss, M.D., M.M.M - Pediatrics

•    Caroline Milne, M.D. - Internal Medicine

•    Danielle Roussel, M.D. - Anesthesiology

•    David Morton, Ph.D. - Neurobiology & Anatomy

•    Jack Dolcourt, M.D. Med - Pediatrics

•    Janet Lindsley, Ph.D. - Biochemistry

•    Jim Bale, M.D. - Pediatrics

•    Kurt Hegmann, M.D., MPH - Family and Preventive Medicine

•    Louisa Stark, Ph.D. - Human Genetics

•    Richard Wiggins, M.D., CIIP - Radiology

•    Rick Ash, Ph.D. - Neurobiology & Anatomy

•    Sara Lamb, M.D. - Internal Medicine

•    Suzanne Stensaas, Ph.D. - Neurobiology & Anatomy

•    Tim Farrell, M.D. - Internal Medicine

•    Wayne Samuelson, M.D. - Internal Medicine

•    Wendy Hobson-Rohrer, M.D. - Director

A formal induction ceremony for the newly named fellows will take place May 16 at 6 p.m. and is open to the media.  More details on the event will be disclosed at a later date.