Media Contacts

Marissa VillaseƱor

Manager, University of Utah Health Sciences Office of Public Affairs
Phone: 801-581-3102

May 31, 2015 11:54 AM

1. Richard K. Gurgel, M.D., has received the American Otological Society clinician-scientist grant, an $80,000 per year grant with a three-year funding period. The purpose of the grant is to help new academic clinician-scientists get experience and preliminary data to develop into an independent otologic investigator. Gurgel is an Assistant Professor of Surgery at the University of Utah.

2. ASHP has named Linda Tyler, Pharm.D., FASHP, as the recipient of the 2015 John W. Webb Lecture Award. Dr. Tyler is Administrative Director of Pharmacy Services at the University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics in Salt Lake City, where she oversees pharmacy operations at four hospitals, 10 ambulatory clinics and 14 outpatient pharmacies. She also serves as associate dean of pharmacy practice and clinical professor of pharmacotherapy at the University of Utah College of Pharmacy. The John W. Webb Lecture Award honors pharmacy practitioners or educators who demonstrate extraordinary dedication to excellence in their field. Read more here:

3. Jared Rutter, Ph.D., has been selected as an investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute for his groundbreaking research of metabolism and its related diseases. The biochemist is among 26 of the nation’s top biomedical researchers selected this year. Rutter plans to use his HHMI funding to continue researching metabolism and its relations to cancer, diabetes and other diseases.

Rutter has served on the University of Utah School of Medicine Faculty since 2003. Rutter also serves as co-director of the Diabetes and Metabolism Center at the University of Utah and as co-leader of the Nuclear Control of Cell Growth and Differentiation Program at the Huntsman Cancer Institute.

For more information, visit


4. Jared Rutter, M.D, has been named a Finalist for the 2015 Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists. The award, distributed by the New York Academy of Sciences and the Blavatnik Family Foundation, highlights Rutter's work in cellular and molecular biology. Designated one of the top ten candidates in the Life Sciences category, Rutter is also invited to the Annual Blavatnik Science Symposium held at the New York Academy of Sciences in New York City as well as the Annual Blavatnik National Awards Ceremony and Celebration. 


5. Michael Feehan, PhD, Visiting Professor, and Mark A. Munger, PharmD, FCCP, have been profiled in “Inside Patient Care: Pharmacy and Clinics” for their research in providing primary healthcare services in retail pharmacies. Meehan and Munger’s research focuses on the the potential of pharmacy-distributed healthcare. Feehan and Munger also received a significant grant from the philanthropic Skaggs Foundation for Research, and Skaggs Institute for Research to conduct research concerning new healthcare service offerings. 

Feehan is a Visiting Professor at the Utah Department of Pharmacotherapy. His research focuses on health systems reform and public health through optimizing pharmacy-related services.

Munger acts as the Director of Continuing Education and Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at the University of Utah College of Pharmacy. He is also an Adjunct Professor within the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine.