Diagnostic Testing for Organ Transplantation

Contact Us

Technologists' Contact Information

Phone: 801-581-3116
Fax: 801-585-3670
Email: amber.carn@hsc.utah.edu

The Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (H&I) Laboratory provides a complete range of diagnostic testing services used primarily in the field of clinical organ transplantation and, secondarily, for study of associations between certain diseases and several HLA alloantigens. The laboratory provides STAT coverage on a 24-hour basis for clinical consultation and for final placement of organs from deceased donors, including kidney, pancreas, heart, lung and liver transplants.

The H&I lab is fully accredited by the American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI) as well as the Centers For Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) under CLIA guidelines.

Testing Results for Organ and Bone Marrow Transplantation Only

This laboratory provides testing services for organ and bone marrow transplantation only. If you are looking for testing services not related to transplant please contact the outpatient lab at 801-581-2654. Thank you.

Lab Hours, Forms, & Certification

Lab Hours:

Monday-Friday 7:30 am–4:30 pm

Blood samples are accepted from 7am Monday through 11am Friday.

The lab is closed on university holidays; please submit blood samples no later than 11am on the business day prior to a holiday for same-day processing.

Forms

Please contact the lab directly for a Histocompatibility Testing Requisition form at 801-585-0061

Certificates

Contact Us

Name Title Email Address
Eszter Lazar-Molnar, PhD, D(ABHI), D(ABMLI) Laboratory Director eszter.lazar-molnar@path.utah.edu
Michelle R. Taylor Laboratory Manager michelle.taylor@hsc.utah.edu
Kevin Williams Lead HLA Technologist kevin.williams@hsc.utah.edu
Denise Hurst Immunogenetics Specialist denise.hurst@hsc.utah.edu
Ann Pole HLA Technologist ann.pole@hsc.utah.edu
Lori Ellinger Lead HLA Technologist lori.ellinger@hsc.utah.edu
Amber Carn Administrative Officer amber.carn@hsc.utah.edu
Kimmi Dibb HLA Technologist Kimberly.Dibb@hsc.utah.edu
Samuel Donaldson HLA Technologist samuel.donaldson@hsc.utah.edu
Amanda Wilcox HLA Technologist amanda.pearson@hsc.utah.edu
Kathryn Bean Medical Technologist Kathryn.Bean@hsc.utah.edu
Lisa Coliflower Medical Technologist lisa.coliflower@hsc.utah.edu
Ling Li Medical Technologist ling.li@hsc.utah.edu