Diagnostic Testing for Organ Transplantation

Contact Us

Technologists' Contact Information

Phone: 801-581-3116
Fax: 801-585-3670
Email: amber.carn@hsc.utah.edu

The Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (H&I) Laboratory provides a complete range of diagnostic testing services used primarily in the field of clinical organ transplantation and, secondarily, for study of associations between certain diseases and several HLA alloantigens. The laboratory provides STAT coverage on a 24-hour basis for clinical consultation and for final placement of organs from deceased donors, including kidney, pancreas, heart, lung and liver transplants.

The H&I lab is fully accredited by the American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI) as well as the Centers For Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) under CLIA guidelines.

Lab Hours:

Monday-Friday 7:30 am–4:30 pm

Blood samples are accepted from 7am Monday through 11am Friday.

The lab is closed on university holidays; please submit blood samples no later than 11am on the business day prior to a holiday for same-day processing.

Forms

Please contact the lab directly for a Histocompatibility Testing Requisition form at 801-585-0061

Certificates

Find a Location

Please enter a valid zip code or city, state.

Contact Us

Name Title Email Address
Eszter Lazar-Molnar Laboratory Director eszter.lazar-molnar@path.utah.edu
Michelle R. Taylor Laboratory Manager michelle.taylor@hsc.utah.edu
Kevin Williams Lead HLA Technologist kevin.williams@hsc.utah.edu
Denise Hurst Immunogenetics Specialist denise.hurst@hsc.utah.edu
Ann Pole HLA Technologist ann.pole@hsc.utah.edu
Lori Ellinger HLA Technologist lori.ellinger@hsc.utah.edu
Amber Carn Administrative Officer amber.carn@hsc.utah.edu
Brooke Walters Medical Technologist brooke.walters@hsc.utah.edu
Kimmi Dibb HLA Technologist u0225121@utah.edu
Samuel Donaldson HLA Technologist samuel.donaldson@hsc.utah.edu
Amanda Pearson Medical Technologist amanda.pearson@hsc.utah.edu
Chandra Sikkema HLA Technologist Chandra.sikkema@hsc.utah.edu