Skip to main content

Honoring a Career of Excellence


Randall J Olson, MD, chair of University of Utah Health Care's Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, and CEO of the John A. Moran Eye Center, was awarded the Philip M. Corboy, MD, Memorial Award for Distinguished Service to Ophthalmology at the Royal Hawaiian Eye Meeting on Sunday, January 18, 2015. The award is given to an ophthalmologist who "typifies a career of excellence in the service of his or her patients and peers."

Olson received the award for his "legendary dedication and service to ophthalmology," and for the many contributions he has made to the field. He is the first and only chairman of the John A. Moran Eye Center, having started the department in 1982 with only two faculty members. It has now grown to include 57 faculty members.

Olson was introduced by John M. Corboy, MD, who is Philip Corboy's son and president of the Hawaiian Eye Foundation. Dr. Corboy began his introduction with, "Most of you know of Dr. Randall Olson, many of you know him well. It would take days to list Randy Olson's awards, honors, achievements, and appointments," he said, describing him as being unparalleled in his "dedication, brilliance, caring and integrity."

Olson, for his part, said that honoring him was also honoring the faculty of the John A. Moran Eye Center, as well as Olson's many mentors. He said his secret is to surround himself with people who are smarter than him, and to let them run.

Philip M. Corboy, MD was an accomplished ophthalmologist with a 50-year career, who dedicated himself to serving the people of Hawaii as a clinician, teacher, and innovator. He was active in several civic clubs and service organizations, and at various times in his career held the position of Commissioner of the Hawaiian Statehood Commission, Commander of the American Legion, and French Vice-Consul in Hawaii. He spoke 10 languages, five of the fluently. This award was first given out in 1986, Dr. Corboy passed away in 1992 due to cancer.

Find a history of the award.