Skip to main content

Macula Society Honors Moran Clinician-Scientist

Paul Henkind Memorial Lecture

Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD, FACS, FARVO has been named the 2016 recipient of the Paul Henkind Memorial Lecture and Award by the Macula Society.

One of the most prestigious invitation-only groups in the international retinal field, the Macula Society is focused on new research in retinal and macular diseases, and the majority of its members are involved in cutting-edge research and/or investigators in major clinical trials. The award is given in memory of Paul Henkind, who was Chairman of the Research Committee of the Society, for outstanding retinal research.

Leading Clinician-Scientist

As an internationally recognized leader in retinal research, Hartnett is a clinician-scientist who has made valuable contributions to increase awareness of, and improve treatment for, pediatric and adult retinal conditions throughout the world. She is a sought-after collaborator and an innovator who has greatly expanded pediatric ophthalmology services at the John A. Moran Eye Center at the University of Utah and at Primary Children's Medical Center in Salt Lake. She is editor-in-chief of Pediatric Retina, the premier book on her field. The book is now in its second edition and is the only academic textbook on the subject.

A doctor of ophthalmology with a practice at Moran, Hartnett is a professor at the University of Utah Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences and an Adjunct Professor at the University of Utah Departments of Neurobiology and Anatomy and Department of Pediatrics. As a vitreoretinal surgeon, she treats and manages adult and pediatric retinal cases. Her clinical interests include vitreoretinal surgical diseases, including retinopathy of prematurity, or abnormal blood vessel development in the eye of a premature baby; pediatric vitreoretinopathies; trauma; retinal detachments; and diabetic eye disease. She also has a special interest in age-related macular degeneration.

Dr. Hartnett will deliver her lecture and receive the award at the society's annual meeting, February 24-27 at Eden Roc, Miami Beach.