Skip to main content
E48: The Intellectual Domain of Grief

You are listening to Seven Domains of Women's Health:

E48: The Intellectual Domain of Grief

Apr 05, 2024

Grief is not a linear process, but rather a messy and tumultuous experience intertwined with various emotions such as guilt, anger, and relief. Normalizing the chaotic feelings and thoughts that accompany grief adds to our growth as humans.

In the intellectual domain of grief, Dr. Kirtly Jones is joined by Kathie Supiano, director of Caring Connections: A Hope and Comfort in Grief Program, to explore grief from a clinician's perspective—unlike depression, sorrow and grief are not problems to be solved. The conversation challenges Kübler-Ross's five stages of grief, emphasizing that each grieving journey is unique, with no one "correct" way to grieve. Making sense of loss over time can lead to feelings and thoughts of appreciation, gratitude, and remembrance as we navigate our grieving process.

    This content was originally produced for audio. Certain elements such as tone, sound effects, and music, may not fully capture the intended experience in textual representation. Therefore, the following transcription has been modified for clarity. We recognize not everyone can access the audio podcast. However, for those who can, we encourage subscribing and listening to the original content for a more engaging and immersive experience.

    All thoughts and opinions expressed by hosts and guests are their own and do not necessarily reflect the views held by the institutions with which they are affiliated.


    Host: Kirtly Jones, MD

    Guest: Kathie Supiano, PhD

    Producer: Chloé Nguyễn

    Connect with '7 Domains of Women's Health'